My Guest Posting Secrets

Steal my templates that I use to get 1000s of guest post opportunities

Hey there, fellow SEOpreneurs,

I don’t know what the weather is like where you live, but summer finally hit where I am, so I’m writing this outside on my patio. I hope you’re reading this somewhere equally summery (unless you’re in the southern hemisphere, I suppose…)

Well, wherever you are, let’s just dive into this week's topic: Link-building email tips and tricks.

Link-building is one of the essential elements of getting your pages ranked higher (SEO).

Most people don’t take the time to get the backlinks needed for their site. They just put out content and hope that Google thinks it’s cool. That is not cool.

So how do you get backlinks, you ask?

Just send out some emails and ask for them!

Haha, actually, it’s a little more complicated and takes a bit more effort than that.

But don’t worry, I’ll walk you through the whole process that I use to get backlinks for all of my sites.

How To Get Backlinks With My Tried and True Email Templates

OK, so you have a website, and you have your content. But Google is not ranking it, and your domain rating is in the single digits. What do you do?

That’s right, you get backlinks.

Backlinks mean authority (the second letter of Google’s EEAT formula they use to rank websites and content), so they are a BIG deal. Backlinks tell Google that other websites think your content is good enough to reference on their site.

Here’s how it works: If your website is linked somewhere on a high DR site (like in a blog), then you are getting some of that high DR “link juice” and getting the authority that comes with it.

So how do you get a piece of content on a high DR site that points back to your site?

One: You do a link exchange.

Two: You write a blog that is good enough to be displayed on the high DR site with a link to one of your blogs in it.

Now, unless you already have a high DR site (which you probably don’t, otherwise, you wouldn’t need to do this), the site you want to get on probably doesn’t care about being featured on your lowly site (cruel, I know, but true).

So that leaves you (basically) begging to write a blog for them with one of your links embedded within it to get a backlink to your site.

I know it sounds like a lot of work for just a link, but this is the game you signed up for. SEO is a lot of hard work with little results for a long time… and then you get exponentially higher, long-lasting results that fund your retirement and put your kids through college. So suck it up and write some blogs! lol

Can’t Miss Templates

Now, these blog sites get untold numbers of requests for guest posting. So how do you get through the gates and have them say yes to you adding a blog to their site?

In the SEO community, I have asked, begged, and traded with my fellow SEO pros to get their email templates (they might get mad that I am sharing them with you, actually).

The templates I got were great, but I tweaked them to suit my style, and you should too.

However, they are a great place to start; you will quickly see what works for you and what doesn’t.

Here are a few email templates I have used in the past.

Email template 1:

Hi [Insert first name],

My name is Andrew. I’m the founder of IN DMND (indmnd.com), where I provide valuable insights for business owners to leverage technology to 10x their business.

Loved the blog post, A Beginner’s Guide to Google Search Console & How To Use It. I agree that Google Search Console is becoming more essential to successful businesses daily. This article has many great insights, so thanks for publishing it.

You provide actionable guidance to your blog readers, and I was wondering if we could collaborate by contributing content to the [Insert blog name here] blog.

Let me know what you think.

Talk soon,

Andrew Dunn

That was my first one. Not bad. But I tried others too.

Email template 2:

Hi [first name],

This is Andrew. I am also an entrepreneur and love to learn more about anything business-related (currently diving into everything software-related that makes life easier for businesses).

I came across your article on [insert the gist of the article here] and thought it contained excellent insights in a well-laid-out structure. I use a similar design in my own blogs.

I appreciate your article's thoughtful approach and would love to contribute to [website name]. I was wondering if you would be interested in collaborating through:

  1. Guest Posting: Having me contribute original and practical content to [website name]

  2. Link Exchanges: I personally write articles in the business/software/AI space and would gladly link [website name] to any relevant posts.

If you’re interested, I’d love to run some ideas by you. Here are some of my previous works to understand my writing style.

I also publish 5+ articles per week on my blog INDMND.com so that you can check out all of my work there.

Either way, let me know what you think. Thanks for the great content!

Cheers,

Andrew Dunn

This one is a bit longer and adds in the option for link exchanges (I stopped doing this because it just got too crazy. You’ll see what I mean if you try it and attempt to keep track of links you’re owed).

Here’s another one:

Hey [FIRST NAME],

I recently found the article, [Blog Article Name], and I enjoyed it immensely. I agree that [Custom Content About Article]. I thought the article contained excellent insights in a well-laid-out format, similar to my blog design.

Anyways, I’m writing to let you know I appreciated the thoughtful approach to the article. If you’re interested, I’d love to find a way to contribute to the blog, whether that be via a guest posting or a link exchange.

I write for more than 15 DR70+ sites every month, such as [SITE LINK], [SITE LINK], and [SITE LINK], and I’m always looking to collaborate with more great people like you in any way that I can.

I also run INDMND.com, providing valuable insights for business owners to leverage technology to 10x their business. You can check out more of my writing there.

Either way, let me know what you think, and thanks again for the great content!

Best,

Andrew

This is the one I have been using lately. It suits my needs best and seems to work fairly well.

Custom Content

Now, you might have noticed there are bracketed areas within the emails. Those are for you to customize your content for each request.

You must play a numbers game if you email blog sites for backlinks. I have emailed over 1000 websites for backlinks, and there’s no way I was writing 1000 unique emails (you obviously can’t send a generic email, either — that will get you rejected quickly because that is spam).

The key is a happy medium of template and custom content.

I recommend the following:

  • Create a spreadsheet with all the company information you want to get a link from, including the website, contact name, company name, contact email, their DR, etc.

  • Find an article on their site to mention (you can get a VA to do this)

  • Create a column for a custom subject line (I really loved your blog post about…)

  • Create a column for your custom text within the email

  • Use an automated emailer like Hubspot, Sender, Mailchimp, etc., set up your template, and have it fill in your custom content from the spreadsheet.

  • Open the article you want to create custom content with and peruse it, picking out some main points.

  • Use this to create your custom content (it doesn’t have to be super in-depth. You just have to grab their attention a bit

  • Don’t make mistakes! They are judging if they want to have you write on their site. Put your best foot forward.

  • Test to ensure your emails look good and work (this took me a few tries).

Then you sit back and watch the opportunities roll in!

Once you get the chance to write for other websites, well, that’s a whole new set of issues that need to be sorted out (oh, the joys of SEO, am I right? lol), but that’s for another newsletter.

Until then, just work on perfecting your message and sending it out to as many sites as you can, and getting some responses.

Happy emailing!

I hope you found today’s newsletter informative and helpful. Stay tuned next week for more tips and tricks on how to succeed in the world of SEO.

At INDMND.com, we’re striving to bring you any and all information that will help you level up your SEO.

If you were forwarded this email, you can subscribe here to get awesome SEO tips delivered straight to your inbox every Sunday.

See you next week, and keep striving to become an SEOpreneur!